October 27–30 | Walter E. Washington Convention Center | Washington, D.C.

TCT® Career Achievement Award

For extraordinary contributions to the field of interventional cardiology and transforming cardiovascular care through clinical excellence, pioneering research, and mentorship of the next generation of physicians and researchers.

Robert A. Harrington, MD

Stephen and Suzanne Weiss Dean of Weill Cornell Medicine
Provost for Medical Affairs of Cornell University

Join Us for the Award Presentation at TCT® 2024

Monday, October 28, 2024
9:45 AM -11:00 AM
Main Arena, Level 3

We are incredibly honored to bestow this award upon Bob. At this pivotal moment in the field, Dr. Harrington symbolizes the future of cardiovascular medicine, guiding our path forward. Throughout his career, he has showcased remarkable dedication to advancing patient care through his pioneering work in clinical research and digital health. He has not only influenced the current landscape but has also invested wholeheartedly in cultivating the future, devoting himself to mentoring the next generation of physicians and researchers.

— Roxana Mehran, MD, TCT® 2024 Program Director

Congratulations to Dr. Robert A. Harrington!

Dr. Harrington’s career-long contributions to the global cardiology world are nothing less than transformative. He is the Stephen and Suzanne Weiss Dean of Weill Cornell Medicine and Provost for Medical Affairs of Cornell University. His research focus includes evaluating antithrombotic therapies to treat acute ischemic heart disease and to minimize the acute complications of percutaneous coronary procedures and trying to better understand and improve upon the methodology of clinical research, including the use of technologies to facilitate the conduct of clinical trials.

For more than 10 years, Dr. Harrington was the Arthur L. Bloomfield Professor and Chair of the Department of Medicine at Stanford University. He previously served as the Richard Stack Distinguished Professor and Director of the Duke Clinical Research Institute at Duke University, where he completed his fellowship in general and interventional cardiology.

A native of Somerville, Massachusetts, and a first-generation college graduate, Dr. Harrington received his Bachelor of Arts in English magna cum laude from the College of the Holy Cross, in Worcester, Massachusetts. He earned his medical degree from Tufts University School of Medicine, in Boston, and served as chief resident during his residency in internal medicine at the University of Massachusetts Medical Center in Worcester.

Passionate about sharing information about health and medicine, Dr. Harrington has written more than 760 peer-reviewed manuscripts, reviews, book chapters, and editorials. He served as senior editor for the 13th and 14th editions of Hurst’s The Heart — a leading textbook of cardiovascular medicine. He is active on X (formerly Twitter) and hosts a podcast for practitioners called “The Bob Harrington Show.”

A past-president of the American Heart Association, Dr. Harrington sits on the AHA Board of Directors. He is an elected member of the Association of American Physicians, the Association of University Cardiologists, and the National Academy of Medicine / Institute of Medicine. He served as a chair and member of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration Cardiovascular and Renal Drugs Advisory Committee.

Among Dr. Harrington’s numerous awards and recognition: Master of the American College of Cardiology (2016); AHA Clinical Research Prize (2017); AHA Council on Clinical Cardiology Distinguished Achievement Award (2022); Stokes Medal (2022); and Honorary Fellowship in the Irish Cardiac Society (2023).

Previous Winners of the TCT Career Achievement Award

Honoring pioneers in interventional cardiovascular medicine.

2023Stuart J. Pocock, PhD
2022Valentin Fuster, MD, PhD
2019Robert O. Bonow, MD, MS
2018Bram D. Zuckerman, MD
2017Elazer Edelman, MD, PhD
2016Runlin Gao, MD
2015John E. Abele
2014Michael J. Mack, MD
2013Andreas Gruentzig, MD
2012Renu Virmani, MD
2011Eric J. Topol, MD
2010Alain G. Cribier, MD
2009Spencer B. King III, MD
2008Seung-Jung Park, MD
2007Barry T. Katzen, MD
2006Paul Yock, MD
2005James T. Willerson, MD
2004Eugene Braunwald, MD
2003J. Eduardo M.R. Sousa, MD, PhD
2002William W. O’Neill, MD
2000Donald S. Baim, MD
1999Julio C. Palmaz, MD
1998Antonio Colombo, MD
1997John B. Simpson, PhD, MD
1996Patrick W. Serruys, MD, PhD
1995David R. Holmes, Jr, MD
1994Geoffrey O. Hartzler, MD

Join The Conversation #TCT2024

CRF Logo

Sign Up for Our Newsletter

Get the latest news and information from CRF®.

By submitting your email address, you agree to the CRF® Privacy Policy & Terms and Conditions.

1700 Broadway, 9th Floor
New York, NY 10019
[email protected]

© 2024, Cardiovascular Research Foundation®. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy
Terms and Conditions of Use

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Read More